The competition

Polish Music Critics Competition KROPKA ("DOT")
For the fourth time we are awarding music critics
Attractive prizes for the winners!


The general opinion is that everyone can criticize others. A deeper reflection and careful assessment of the music phenomenon is a rare ability. Yet much rarer is the ability to make an original judgment in such a way that it attracts attention of casual readers.

We believe that constructive music criticism can and should be considered as true art. That’s why we created Polish Music Critics Competition “DOT”.

This event has an opportunity to contribute to an integration of artistic communities, which due to their great diversity and niche music genres, remain disunited.

This year, the jury will consist of:

Daniel Cichy, Joanna Maleszyńska, Anna Ignatowicz-Glińska, Agata Kwiecińska, Remigiusz Mazur-Hanaj, Mirosław Pęczak, Rafał Księżyk and Piotr Metz.

Among the laureates of previous editions there were Anna R. Burzyńska, Dorota Kozińska, Paweł Siechowicz, Barbara Kinga Majewska.

The Special Award was given to prominent foreign journalists, such as Alex Ross from "The New Yorker", John Allison from British "Opera Magazine" or David Pountney.

More information to be found in terms and conditions.

Key dates

September 3, 2018 – The announcement of the competition

October 15, 2018 – Closing date for entries

October 15 – 18, 2018 – Works of the organization committee (selection of entries and papers for the competition)

October 16 – November 25, 2018 – Work of the jury

November 26, 2018 – Announcement of results

December 5, 2018 - The award ceremony in Polish Music Publishing House [PWM] in Warsaw (Fredry 8 Street)

The main co-organizer of the 4th edition of Polish Music Critics Competition and the Grand Prix Founder is the Institute of Music and Dance.

The competition received support from Authors Society's Creation Support Fund ZAIKS.




logo kropka

Competition's logo project - PhD Max Skorwider