Each year, outstanding musicologists, music critics, journalists, publicists, and animators of musical life serve as jurors in the Polish Music Critics Competition. This year, the jury will  deliberate in the following composition: Daniel Cichy, Joanna Maleszyńska, Anna Ignatowicz-Glińska, Agata Kwiecińska, Remigiusz Mazur-Hanaj, Mirosław Pęczak, Rafał Księżyk and Piotr Metz.

dr Daniel Cichy - Przewodniczący Jury

Chairman of the Jury

A Doctor of Musicology and music journalist. Director and Editor in Chief of Polish Music Publishing House (PWM). Specializes in contemporary composing and opera music. His doctoral thesis was devoted to the life and works of Witold Szalonka. Lectured at Institute of Music at University of Silesia in Cieszyn. Currently he is affiliated with the Institute of Musicology and Theatre Department of Jagiellonian University in Kraków. As a critic and music journalist he collaborates with „Tygodnik Powszechny” (weekly public magazine), „Ruch Muzyczny” („Music Movement”) and Polskie Radio Program II. He is a host of weekly broadcasts in Radio Kraków which popularize classical music.

(photo by Radio Kraków)

dr hab. Joanna Maleszyńska

She works at the Department of Historical Poetics and Literary Criticism as well as at the Center for Research in Music Theater at the Institute of Polish Philology at Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznan. Her research interests are focused around the relations between literature and music. She is the author of a number of works about the musical and the song, the history of which she devoted her habilitation dissertation.

(photo by Konstancja Maleszyńska)

dr Anna Ignatowicz-Glińska

 A composer, completed her studies in composition in the class of Prof. Włodzimierz Kotoński. She is an Assistant Professor at her alma mater (Fryderyk Chopin University of Music in Warsaw), currently she is also the associate dean of the Department of Choir Conducting, Music Education, Church Music, Rhythmics and Dance. Her works were performed at concerts and festivals in Poland and abroad (including Germany, Austria, the Czech Republic, Russia, France, Switzerland, Denmark, USA, Latin America, China and Ukraine), recorded on CDs (Audite, DUX, Acte Préalable, Mons, Polonia Records, SARTON, SWR2 Deutschlandfunk, Chopin University Press) and published (Norsk Musikforlag, PWM). Winner of prizes and honorary mentions at composers' competitions. She is a member of ZAiKS, ZKP, the Polish Society for Electroacoustic Music (PSEME) and a member of the Board of the "Spotkania Muzyczne" Foundation. She is a multiple scholarship holder of ZAiKS, MKiDN and IMiT. She is also interested in literature and music literature (publications in professional literature and in the music press). She represents the Polish Society of Authors and Composers ZaiKS in the Jury.

Agata Kwiecińska

Music journalist, graduate of the Inter-Faculty Individual Studies in the Humanities at the University of Warsaw (musicology, law). Since 2005 she has been cooperated with Program 2 of Polish Radio, where from 2012 to 2018 she was the author of the radio broadcast "Five o'clock". Currently, she is conducting the broadcast “Po herbacie” (eng. After tea). Since 2013, Editor-in-Chief of the “Muzykoteka Szkolna” website devoted to music education, run by the National Film Archive-Audiovisual Institute (formerly NInA). She also collaborated with the Fryderyk Chopin Institute, in 2015 she was the Spokesperson of the 17th International Fryderyk Chopin Piano Competition. She published, among others in Ruch Muzyczny,, Tygodnik Powszechny and the Polish Editorial Board of Deutsche Welle.

dr hab. Mirosław Pęczak

Expert in cultural studies, columnist for the weekly “Polityka”. He manages the Cultural Studies Unit at the Faculty of Education at the University of Warsaw. He studies the participation in culture, theory and analysis of popular culture as well as the issues connected with subcultures and environmental cultures. He published, among others Subkultury w PRL. Opór, kreacja, imitacja (eng. “Subcultures in the PRL. Resistance, Creation, Imitation”), National Center for Culture, Warsaw 2013; Cały ten blues. Przypadek Sławka Wierzcholskiego (eng. “All this blues. The case of Sławek Wierzcholski”), publ. Adam Marszałek, Toruń 2014; Mały słownik subkultur młodzieżowych (eng. “A small dictionary of youth subcultures”), publ. Semper, Warsaw 1992; Polska siła – skini, narodowcy, chuligani (eng. “Polish force - skins, nationalists, hooligans”), publ. BGW, Warsaw 1994.

Rafał Księżyk

Journalist and music critic. In the 90s he contributed to new Polish musical press and popculture as the editor of the magazines „Brum”, „Plastik”, „Antena Krzyku”, and „Aktivist”. Co-author of the autobiographies of Tomasz Stańko „Desperado” (2010),  Robert Brylewski „Kryzys w Babilonie” (2012), Tymon Tymański „AD/HD” (2013), Kazik Staszewski „Idę tam gdzie idę” (2015) and the author of the monographic essay „23 cięcia dla Williama S. Burroughsa” (2013).

(photo by Marcin Klaban/Studio MMP)

Remigiusz Mazur-Hanaj

Ethnographer, musician, culture animator, publisher, editor and publicist. Musician in the band “Księżyc” and in his original project “Nagrania Terenowe Snów”. Co-creator of the "dance houses" movement in Poland, author of screenplays for documentary films, many radio programs, he runs the In Crudo record company. Initiator and editor-in-chief of the website and co-creator of the lexicon. Member of the jury of the Festival of Polish Folk Bands and Singers in Kazimierz Dolny. He deals with traditional music and avant-folk. He published, among others in "Konteksty" or "Ruch Muzyczny", he is a co-author of the Report on Polish Music and Report on the State of Traditional Musical Culture. He lives in Milanówek.

(photo by Kasia Huzarska)

Piotr Metz

Individual Award

A Polish radio journalist, one of the founders and the music director of RMF FM radio station in 1990-2001. Former Editor in Chief of “Machina” (Machine) monthly magazine. He has also worked for the Eurozet Company, Eska Radio and Polish MTV station. Currently, he is the director of the Polish Radio Program III. In the years 2014-2016 he served as the music director of Radio Kraków.